#1A 1948 Tidewater League Final standings / officers

1948 League Officers:

- ✓ Chairman and President D.H. Lashley
- ✓ Secretary and Treasurer Ralph Eudy
- ✓ Statistician Ray Cummins

1948 League Teams Coaches:

- 1. Beaufort Charles Hassell, Mgr
- 2. Havelock R.H. MacIsaccs, Mgr
- 3. Jacksonville Buddy Phillips, Mgr
- 4. Marshallberg Chapel Nelson, Mgr
- 5. Morehead Moose Tenney; and Jack Gardner took over 6/08/1948
- 6. Newport Joe Hill, Mgr. up until August; Then Went With Morehead
- 7. HI-Straits Gerald Whitehurst, Mgr
- 8. Swansboro Arthur "Pappy" Diem, Mgr

1948 Final Teams Standings Swansboro Won Regular Season*

Standings TIDEWATER LEAGUE W. I.. Swansboro 27 10 Morehead City 10 14 Marshallberg 23 17 Reaufori 19 21 Newport 23 Jacksonville 25 Havelock H.I. Straits 26 The above figures are the official final league-standings for the Tidewater League, as revised at a league meeting Wednesday night.

1948 All-Star Game East Won

- **❖** Jack Gardner, Morehead, Managed the EAST Team
- **❖** Pappy Diem, Swansboro, Managed the West Team
- Lee Hawkins, Hi-Straits, led the East Team offensively, goes 3-4 with single, double and home run
- Ben Hester, Beaufort, was another offense standout with 3-5 with a double and 2 singles
- James Webb, Morehead, pitches 3 innings no-hitter, gets credit for the East Win
- Moe Willis, HI-Straits, pitches no-hitter for his 3 innings

Season Playoff Games:

Games were played at Beaufort. Four teams Swansboro. Morehead, Marshallberg and Beaufort. Marshallberg Won the Playoff Crown by beating Beaufort twice!!!

Marshallberg went on to beat the Kinston Stars two straight games!!!