

First row, left to right—Seldon Sherwood, Elijan Nelson, Gilbert Arthur, Jimmy Miller. Second row, left to right—Barrett Davis, Roma Styron, Ralph Styron, Harrell Baldree. Third row—John Nelson.

Boys' Basketball Team

The Morehead City boys' basketball team started practice shortly after school began. Before Christmas, several games, which did not enter into the tournament records, were played in Carteret County. The highlight of these games was the game played at Greenville in which our team was beaten by only four points.

After the Christmas holidays, the team came back determined to establish a good record before the tournament. Additional strength was added to the team by the transfer of an experienced player to our school. We played several games, winning all except two games with the strong teams of Atlantic and Smyrna. The outstanding games in this series were the boys' games in Kinston. The varsity game was won by an overwhelming score, and the junior varsity by one point.

The Carteret County Basketball Tournament began in Atlantic on February 21, with no Morehead City team playing, the first night. On the second night, however, Morehead City boys beat Harker's Island by a one-sided score and, as a result, we were to play Atlantic in the semi-finals. Since Atlantic had one of the strongest teams in the county, everyone was very interested in the outcome of this game. Our boys finally won by a four point margin. This matched them with Smyrna in the finals, Since Smyrna had beaten our boys in nearly every game, this play-off for the county championship promised to be the best game of the season. Our boys started out with a lightning offensive and tight defensive and soon had gained a considerable lead. This lead was held and increased, enabling Morehead City boys to emerge as Carteret County champions for the first time in eight years.

The school owes its gratitude to Coach Talbert, former girls' basketball coach of 1941-1942, who assumed also the responsibility of the boys' team this year, and to the players of the championship team: Ralph Styron, Elijah Nelson, and Barrett Davis—forwards; Roma Styron—center; and Donald Swartz and Seldon Sherwood—guards.